What I would pay for from local newspapers

The ‘big freeze’ hitting the UK this week (as it’s been dubbed by the rolling news channels) has made me reconsider what, if any, services from a local media group or newspaper I would pay for.

For me it would be mobile + reliable travel news. I would happily pay to download an iPhone app from my local paper that has: reliable data on what services are running on the bus routes; which trains will be affected by the bad weather; and which parts of town aren’t worth attempting to walk through.

Some of this data might have to be purchased, other sets are publicly available. But it would be the usability and the reliability of the app that I would base my payment on. The local newspaper could use its trusted brand as a starting point to create something simple to use and easy to personalise.

There could also be layers to this – free to view crowdsourced travel maps for example using real-time updates from readers. If you’re happy with this UGC overview, then you don’t have to pay; but if you want accurate, personal information on your travel routes, there’s a fee.

I’d happily do this – the process of purchasing apps for an iPhone is simple and leads me into buying utility apps all the time to meet a specific need I have at that moment, when I have my phone to hand.

If any local news groups are already doing this, let me know. I’ll be a converted customer the next time I’m in your area.

2 Responses

  1. […] What I would pay for from local newspapers « Pebbledash There could also be layers to this – free to view crowdsourced travel maps for example using real-time updates from readers. If you’re happy with this UGC overview, then you don’t have to pay; but if you want accurate, personal information on your travel routes, there’s a fee. (tags: ugc apps) […]

  2. […] What I would pay for from local newspapers « Pebbledash There could also be layers to this – free to view crowdsourced travel maps for example using real-time updates from readers. If you’re happy with this UGC overview, then you don’t have to pay; but if you want accurate, personal information on your travel routes, there’s a fee. (tags: ugc apps) […]

Leave a Reply

